The top-level link to https://www.threetowners.net is giving a 404 error

Computer questions and any issues you have with these forums.
Post Reply
phands
Settling In
Settling In
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:55 am

The top-level link to https://www.threetowners.net is giving a 404 error

Post by phands » Mon Dec 28, 2020 9:49 pm

Hi,

Don't know if anyone else is seeing this, but trying to access https://www.threetowners.net is throwing a 404 error. Accessing https://www.threetowners.net/forum works just fine. Clearing cookies makes no difference - I think the web server needs a configuration check.

I see the error from New York.

Paul

User avatar
bobnetau
Mega Heid Poster
Mega Heid Poster
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:29 am

Re: The top-level link to https://www.threetowners.net is giving a 404 error

Post by bobnetau » Mon Dec 28, 2020 10:08 pm

Hugh, I have had same issue.

User avatar
Hughie
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 10182
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 12:42 am
Location: Australia Formerly Ardrossan
Contact:

Re: The top-level link to https://www.threetowners.net is giving a 404 error

Post by Hughie » Tue Dec 29, 2020 7:53 am

bobnetau wrote:
Mon Dec 28, 2020 10:08 pm
Hugh, I have had same issue.
Netta, you've followed the link given. That's not listed anywhere as a link to the forum.

It's the way I've configured it. threetowners.net/forum it leaves me with the right to add another new site unrelated to the forum, such as threetowners.net/hughie
Putting threetowners into a search engine you shouldn't find "threetowners.net" but you will find threetowners.net/forum and threetowners.com/ our home page which occupies that whole domain

phands
Settling In
Settling In
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:55 am

Re: The top-level link to https://www.threetowners.net is giving a 404 error

Post by phands » Tue Dec 29, 2020 4:48 pm

Hugh,

The 404 error is really off-putting - makes people think the site is down or gone. It's also a change from before. A casual passer-by would have to know that /forum has to be appended to the base URL. If you add another area to the site, how will people find it? The reason I raise the matter is that I recently joined a FaceBook group on Memories of Saltcoats as a Kid and recommended that members there - over 10500 of them - come to threetowners.net, as it's one of my favourite web sites. A few of them got the 404, so I changed my link to the "A stroll around 1960s Saltcoats", and now they can find it.

threetowners.com still resolves to what I was expecting to see...
3towners.jpg
Then, clicking on the forum link at the bottom of that page, you get redirected to threetowners.net/forum as expected.

Speaking as someone whose career is in software engineering and the Internet, a 404 is sign that something has gone wrong. I would make sure that the top-level page resolves to something, so people don't give up, or have to guess at a subdomain link. All this is meant in the nicest way - I want to drive traffic here, and 404s put non-tech people off.

Paul

brian f
Mega Heid Poster
Mega Heid Poster
Posts: 2895
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 8:25 pm

Re: The top-level link to https://www.threetowners.net is giving a 404 error

Post by brian f » Tue Dec 29, 2020 9:55 pm

Phands, Fifteen posts in 10 years..... And you have the total cheek to tell Hughie how to run the forum. Happy New year pal :wink:

User avatar
Hughie
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 10182
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 12:42 am
Location: Australia Formerly Ardrossan
Contact:

Re: The top-level link to https://www.threetowners.net is giving a 404 error

Post by Hughie » Tue Dec 29, 2020 10:23 pm

phands wrote:
Tue Dec 29, 2020 4:48 pm
Hugh,
I would make sure that the top-level page resolves to something, so people don't give up, or have to guess at a subdomain link. All this is meant in the nicest way -
Hi Paul, Yes, I agree, the top-level page should resolve to something. I'll work on that.
I want to drive traffic here, and 404s put non-tech people off.
Non-tech people would have to type the url https://www.threetowners.net in, or delete "/forum" from the url to get the error - they don't type urls in.
But, I'm no expert. You are welcome to PM me. :wink:

Bruce
leading Poster
leading Poster
Posts: 694
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 5:01 pm

Re: The top-level link to https://www.threetowners.net is giving a 404 error

Post by Bruce » Tue Dec 29, 2020 10:48 pm

I’d go along with Paul. Yes, it’s been that way for ever- but for some reason my browser has cached that bad url, and it’s now the first thing that comes up when I enter “thre....” in my search bar. Yes, I could clear it, but I haven’t :-)

Maybe stick a top-level redirect into the root page - if you decide to add a second sub-site later, it’s easy to undo.

User avatar
Hughie
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 10182
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 12:42 am
Location: Australia Formerly Ardrossan
Contact:

Re: The top-level link to https://www.threetowners.net is giving a 404 error

Post by Hughie » Tue Dec 29, 2020 11:05 pm

Bruce wrote:
Tue Dec 29, 2020 10:48 pm
Maybe stick a top-level redirect into the root page - if you decide to add a second sub-site later, it’s easy to undo.
Thanks, Bruce, that's what I'm looking at. :)
Added: I'll study up on how such a redirect is done in cPanel - no rush.

User avatar
Hughie
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 10182
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 12:42 am
Location: Australia Formerly Ardrossan
Contact:

Re: The top-level link to https://www.threetowners.net is giving a 404 error

Post by Hughie » Thu Dec 31, 2020 12:27 am

All fixed! Thanks Paul and Bruce. :D Every day's a school day!

Post Reply