Giovannetti Family

For those researching family in the three towns area.
Fionamcdonald1201
Settling In
Settling In

Giovannetti Family

Post by Fionamcdonald1201 »

Hi there,

I really hope somebody can comment back. I've been tracing my family history as I have been given a snippet into my father's ancestry.

Over the Christmas holidays I have discovered that I am Louis Giovannetti's great great grand-daughter. His father I believe is Caeseri Giovannetti (I think that is how you spell it). It has been confirmed that he owned/ran the Sunset cafe in Saltcoats and lived in Douglas prior to that. The Giovannetti's originally originated from a little town called Barga aka Little Scotland (near Pisa- since the discover I am off to "sightsee" the town this May). I am also led to believe that Louis was part of the Navy - which one I do not know.

If anybody has anymore information I would be forever grateful if you could share. For me, I have no knowledge of my family history and to gain a glimpse has been fascinating.

Thank you!
Hughie
Administrator
Administrator

Re: Giovannetti Family

Post by Hughie »

Very interesting, Fiona. Welcome to Threetowners !
Barga is named, "The most Scottish town in Italy
that's according to Wikipedia
I'm sure our members will be able to help you in your quest to trace your ancestry.
Penny Tray
Mega Heid Poster
Mega Heid Poster

Post by Penny Tray »

Fiona,

You should perhaps have a look at the Ardrossan & Saltcoats Herald, Birth/Marriage/Death database which you can access at no cost. The death of CESARE GIOVANNETTI, for example, and other family intimations feature.

http://www.ayrshire-roots.co.uk/ash.php

You should perhaps clarify too if the previous residency was DOUGLAS, ISLE OF MAN, or DOUGLAS, LANARKSHIRE. I would think the former and that may have been because, like other West of Scotland Italians, he was interned there during World War 11.