What's the strangest job you've done?

Our "Off Topic" forum - have a wee blether here.
Forum rules
Please familiarise yourself with our Board Rules and Guidelines
Hughie
Administrator
Administrator

Post by Hughie »

Back in the very early 1970's, I was a junior Customs Officer at Melbourne's newly opened International Airport. At that time we often detected bird smugglers taking Australian native birds out of the country - detection in the main was by acting on information. Big money could be made selling Australian birds to European clients - the birds were usually doped and restrained inside socks in suitcases as well as on the body.

This was my weird job: We didn't have the staff to examine all baggage going out, but we knew what airline and nationals to target. One of our bosses had a bright idea, which led to me sitting behind the scenes with a stethoscope and listening for chirping birds in suitcases taken from the conveyor belts. Considering the birds would be doped and the noisy conveyer belts, it was little wonder we didn't have any success.

Some images

geomacintyre
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Re: What's the strangest job you've done?

Post by geomacintyre »

I've had many odd and interesting assignments from independent observer at a general election in the Yemen to ensure there was no corruption or intimidation to a " lost walker" to be found and brought to safety by a mountain rescue team but the strangest must be babysitting Red Rum at a stable near Dalry the night before he made a guest appearance at a gala organised by Dalry Motors.
What we do for ourselves alone dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal. - Albert Pine
Jim McCreadie
Heid Poster
Heid Poster

Post by Jim McCreadie »

Not the strangest by a long shot! Many years ago, I had the pleasure of Security Detail for a teenage Danni Minogue - a nice personable young lady.
Q98
32.04'.04"S 115.48'30"E